September

“Try to remember the kind of September
When life was slow and oh so mellow
Try to remember the kind of September
When grass was green and grain so yellow
Try to remember the kind of September
When you were a young and a callow fellow
Try to remember and if you remember
Then follow–follow, oh-oh.”  
–  Try to Remember, Lyrics by Tom Jones and Harvey Schmidt

Why is September so melancholy? I love September, really I do but I just am sad. Is it the warm, sunny, summer ending? The babies, no longer babies, heading off to school, new challenges? Is it that my unscheduled summer time is over? Back to meetings and deadlines and get it done nows? I don’t know but it certainly feels different. I do not think I feel so strongly about the beginning of any other month, save perhaps January. I guess it is similar to January in that it is a fresh start. New calendars, new routines… September seems a sudden change. One day it is summer, joyous and hot  and the next it’s fall, more serious and cool. I guess it is what it is…there will always be a change in season. I will not always have school to order my day around. I really should embrace it now , while I still can!

Perhaps the melancholy is more due to the fact that I am no longer heading off to school. I loved school and was always quite excited to be heading back. Now those days are long behind me. Soon I will not even send my children off to school. What will I do then? What will my days be like then??

Leave a Reply

